Governor Brian Kemp and the Georgia Historical Society Appoint 2024 Georgia Trustees

December 21, 2023, Atlanta, GA – In recognition of the 291st anniversary of the founding of the Georgia colony, the Honorable Brian Kemp, Governor of Georgia, and Dr. W. Todd Groce, President and CEO of the Georgia Historical Society, officially appointed Carol Tomé and Dr. Louis Sullivan as the 2024 Georgia Trustees in a signing ceremony at the Georgia State Capitol.

“It is my honor to be here with Governor Kemp as we appoint the 2024 Georgia Trustees, Carol Tomé and Dr. Louis Sullivan,” said Dr. Groce. “Their lives and commitment to service reflect the motto of the original Trustees, the founders of Georgia, whose guiding principle was ‘Not for Self, But for Others.’ We look forward to recognizing their many accomplishments and celebrating the ideal they represent at their induction ceremony.”

Tomé and Dr. Sullivan will be inducted as Georgia Trustees on Saturday, April 27, 2024, at the Trustees Gala in Savannah.

Carol Tomé
Carol B. Tomé is the Chief Executive Officer of UPS. She is the 12th CEO in the 115-year history of the company. Before joining UPS, Tomé served as Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of The Home Depot, Inc., one of the world’s largest retailers. She joined the company in 1995 as Vice President and Treasurer.

Tomé began her career as a commercial lender with United Bank of Denver (now Wells Fargo) and then spent several years as Director of Banking for Johns-Mansville Corporation. Prior to joining The Home Depot, Carol was Vice President and Treasurer of Riverwood International Corporation.

Tomé serves as a board member for Verizon Communications, Inc. She is on the board of councilors for the Carter Center and is a board trustee for Grady Memorial Hospital Corporation and the Atlanta Botanical Garden. She is also a member of The Committee of 200, The Buckhead Coalition, and The Business Council. 
A native of Jackson, Wyoming, Tomé holds a bachelor’s degree in communication from the University of Wyoming and a master’s degree in finance from the University of Denver.

Dr. Louis Sullivan
Louis W. Sullivan, M.D., was president of Morehouse School of Medicine (MSM)—the only predominantly Black medical school in the U.S. established in the 20th Century—for more than two decades. In 1975, he became the founding dean and director of the Medical Education Program at Morehouse College, which became The School of Medicine at Morehouse College in 1978.

Dr. Sullivan left MSM in 1989 to accept an appointment by President George H.W. Bush to serve as the 17th Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, where he led the national efforts to improve the health of all Americans.

In January 1993, he returned to MSM and resumed the office of president. He retired in 2002 and was appointed president emeritus.

A native of Atlanta, Dr. Sullivan graduated magna cum laude from Morehouse College in 1954, and earned his medical degree, cum laude, from Boston University School of Medicine in 1958.  He is certified in internal medicine and hematology, holds a mastership from the American College of Physicians, and is a member of Phi Beta Kappa and Alpha Omega Alpha academic honor societies.

Dr. Sullivan currently is the chairman of the Washington, DC-based Sullivan Alliance to Transform the Health Professions, and he also serves on the boards of United Therapeutics and Emergent Biosolutions. He also serves as co-chair of the Henry Schein Cares Foundation.

Previous Georgia Trustees
Previous inductees are Dan Amos, Donna Hyland, Dan Cathy, Shirley Franklin, David Abney, Juanita Baranco, Robert L. Brown, Jr., Robert S. Jepson, Jr., Frank Blake, John Schuerholz, Edward H. Bastian, W. Paul Bowers, F. Duane Ackerman, A.D. “Pete” Correll, James H. Blanchard, Muhtar Kent, Alana Smith Shepherd, Paula S. Wallace, Arthur M. Blank, William Porter “Billy” Payne, Truett Cathy, Herman Russell, Tom Cousins, Andrew Young, Vincent J. Dooley, Sam Nunn, Henry Aaron, Robert Edward “Ted” Turner, Bernard Marcus, and Marguerite Neel Williams.

For more information about the 2024 Georgia Trustees, please contact Keith Strigaro, Director of Communications, at or by phone at 912.651.2125, ext. 153.

Georgia History Festival Sponsors


The Georgia Historical Society (GHS) is the premier independent statewide institution responsible for collecting, examining, and teaching Georgia history. GHS houses the oldest and most distinguished collection of materials related exclusively to Georgia history in the nation.
To learn more visit