Georgia Historical Society Announces 2014 Trustees Gala Honorary Co-Chairs


Georgia Historical Society Announces  2014 Trustees Gala Honorary Co-Chairs


Savannah, Ga., January 14, 2014- The Georgia Historical Society today released the list of dignitaries who have agreed to serve as Honorary Co-chairs for the 2014 Trustees Gala.  Among those who will serve are President Jimmy Carter, Senators Johnny Isakson and Saxby Chambliss, Lieutenant Governor Casey Cagle and Atlanta Mayor Kasim Reed.

"We are honored to have such an impressive list of Honorary Co-chairs for the 2014 Gala and Georgia History Festival,” said Dr. W. Todd Groce, President and CEO of the Georgia Historical Society.  "Through their support of the Trustees Gala, they are helping to support the year-round educational programing of the Georgia Historical Society and our mission to collect, examine, and teach Georgia History.  By giving teachers the tools to engage children and teach them about our rich and diverse history all Georgians will reap the benefits for generations to come.”

The Georgia Trustees Gala is the Georgia Historical Society’s premiere annual event and the culmination of the Georgia History Festival.  Each year, this elegant and much-anticipated event draws Georgia’s top business and civic leaders to honor and pay tribute to the very best our state has produced.

The Trustees Gala will take place on Saturday, February 15 at the Hyatt Regency in Savannah where Governor Nathan Deal will induct the 2014 Georgia Trustees, Arthur M. Blank, Home Depot co-founder, Atlanta Falcons owner, and philanthropist, and William Porter “Billy" Payne, Chairman of Augusta National Golf Club, former President and CEO of the Atlanta Committee for the Olympic Games, and community leader.

The 2014 Georgia History Festival Co-Chairs are: President Jimmy Carter, Senator Saxby Chambliss, Senator Johnny Isakson, Representative John Barrow, Representative Sanford D. Bishop, Jr., Representative Paul Broun, Representative Phil Gingrey, Representative Jack Kingston, Representative John Lewis, Representative Lynn Westmorland, Lieutenant Governor Casey Cagle, Attorney General Sam Olens, Speaker David Ralston,  Minority Leader Stacey Abrams, Senator Buddy Carter, Senator Lester G. Jackson, Senator Jeff Mullis, Representative Brooks Coleman, Representative Terry England, Representative Ben Harbin, Representative Matt Hatchett, Representative Penny Houston, Representative Butch Parrish, Representative Barbara Sims, Representative Calvin Smyre, and Representative Ron Stephens.


The 2014 Gala, “Mojo Nights,” is an elegant evening including lively conversation with the inductees and other local, state, and national leaders.  Seats or tables at the 2014 Trustees Gala can be purchased at or by calling the Georgia Historical Society at 912-651-2125, ext. 120 or 404-382-5410.



SAVANNAH: 501 Whitaker St., Savannah, GA 31401
ATLANTA: 260 14th St., NW, Ste. A-148, Atlanta, GA 30318

Georgia Historical Society (GHS) is the premier independent statewide institution responsible for collecting, examining and teaching Georgia history. GHS houses the oldest and most distinguished collection of materials related exclusively to Georgia history in the nation.